Etude House · Nature Republic

{REVIEW} The Pore Control Routine – ETUDE HOUSE Wonder Pore Freshner & NATURE REPUBLIC Hawaiian Fresh Clay Pack

Sooo, hey everyone! This is the first time Im doing anything relatively close to these things but lately Ive been pretty into beauty products after having this massive break up/allergic reaction on my face last year. How into beauty products you might ask? I just confirmed an online payment for ANOTHER haul not less than 30 minutes ago. This is my 6th beauty product haul since the beginning of the year and its really not a good idea when you’re a broke as university student.

Anyway, the first 2 products I want to talk about are pore control products. I always knew I have this blackhead problem on my nose but in about February 2014 I realized that it wasnt just blackheads on my nose that I should be worrying about, but also the MASSIVE pores on the cheek areas next to my nose (or the area of my maxillary sinuses, if we’re talking specific anatomy :P). I dont really have a picture to show you guys the state of my pores back then since Ive been using these two products for about half a year now and have seen dramatic changes.

2014-10-22 15.44.23
Soo that’s me 😉

Okay. Enough back history about me and my pores. First, the ETUDE HOUSE WONDER PORE FRESHNER.

2014-10-31 18.06.55

I know this product has been out in the market for a while now and there has been numerous good reviews & feedbacks about this but never got a chance to try it until the kind people of Etude House Malaysia gave me a 25ml sample bottle when I was back during the summer. This is what they stress on the product label:

Total pore solution 7 in 1! Deeply cleanse pores, maintain pH 4.5+/- 1, control a large amount of sebum, minimizes appearance of pores, refine skin tones, keep the elasticity of pores & moisturize inside and outside of skin.

Im not gonna lie, initially when I started using this, I didnt really see any changes to the appearance of my pores. The only difference I felt was that it really does moisturize my skin really well. Living in NZ, my skin dries up really badly during the winter months even after putting two different moisturizing products. This product really created an extra moisturizing layer for me. I only start to really see my pores getting smaller a few weeks later. After finishing the sample bottle, I bought the 250ml one online sometime back in April at the price of 9000 Won (NZD$10.80) which is relatively reasonably priced. I dont think I can get a toner that works that well at the price Im paying and its quite a huge bottle! Ive been using this 2 times a day for 6 months now and have about 75ml left at my disposal.

The final verdict

Im DEFINITELY gonna repurchase this product. Really cant stress how much I love this product, it deserves a big 10/10 for its pure awesomeness.

Okay moving on to the next one, NATURE REPUBLIC Hawaiian Fresh Clay Pack.

2014-10-31 18.09.28

I bought this product back in January 2014 when I was in Korea for the holidays (errmagawd the shopping at Myeondong! <3). Its been a while since then so I forgot how much I got it for, but it costs 10,000 Won (NZD$12) for a 95ml tub if you buy it online. I stumbled upon this product when I was just randomly checking out the Nature Republic shop and the lady working at there managed to convinced me to buy it after telling me she’s using it as well (to be perfectly honest, I dont know how believable that was, probably just a marketing strategy haha).

2014-10-31 18.09.50

This product has quite a thick texture when you put it on, a bit like clay (hence the name LOL) and hardens when it dries up. Im not one to fuss about the packaging and how its unsanitary about scooping the products with your bare fingers and stuff. To me, Im using this product only for MY face & always make sure my fingers are clean before I dip them into the tub. So yeah no problems there.

It works like a wash off mask and to be used after cleansing your face. I remember the NR lady told me to put it on for 15-20 mins and wash it off after that but I just leave it on till it completely dries up (too lazy to time haha) and wash it off with luke warm water. The effect is immediate, most of the blackheads on my nose will be gone and the pores on both sides of my nose will disappear/close up. Its amazing, really. The only thing I have against this product that its quite hard to wash off, usually takes me around 10 rinses to get ALL of the product off my face and the water residue stains my white sink 😦

I used to use this twice a week as recommended by the NR lady but then got cheap after a few months and just relied on the wonder pore freshner to work its magic. Life of a poor student LOL. Now, I just use it on days where I wanna pamper myself/when my pores just decide to go out of hand/before a big event.

The final verdict

I will definitely repurchase this. Its actually not that cheap NZD$12 for 95ml but one tub can probably last me 1 year at the rate Im using so its not THAT bad if you think about it. Still affordable! Ill give it a 9/10 score (-1 cz its hard to get off my face LOL)

That’s it for now. I really should get back to studying. 3 more days till my last paper and Ill be done with 2nd year of university woohoo!

Laters xx

2 thoughts on “{REVIEW} The Pore Control Routine – ETUDE HOUSE Wonder Pore Freshner & NATURE REPUBLIC Hawaiian Fresh Clay Pack

  1. I rally like your blog, your posts are all so beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

Leave a Reply

