Cosrx

[REVIEW] COSRX Hydraluronic Acid Hydra Power Essence vs COSRX Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence

What is essence?’

A question that I hear the most from my friends when they hear my skin care routine. To be perfectly honest, essence is something that I added into my skincare routine less than 2 years ago and back then, it was there because everyone in the beauty world had it in their routine. To me, it was a chore, something that I could take away from my routine and not see a significant difference.

That all changed this year, when COSRX came into my life. I am sure by now everyone has heard about COSRX and its growth in the k-beauty world. With Mr. RX as the face of the brand, its affordable price and positive reviews, the brand has grown to be one of the favourites of k-beauty bloggers in the world.

Now, to answer everyone’s question. Essence seeks to be one of the primary layers of your skincare routine, aiming to nourish your skin after cleansing, exfoliating and toning depending on your skin requirements. Most brands have different lines of essences, some with a hydrating purpose, some with oil-control purposes, some with whitening purposes etc.

As you all know, my skin type falls under the dry-extremely dry category. In fact, my aesthetician told me that my collagen layer is so thin that I need to put on masks every day to keep all the moisture (oh joy!) which is easier said than done after 8/9 hours of work as a physiotherapist every day. Hence, to compensate, every one of my product tends to have a huge focus towards hydrating properties.

IMG_20170520_161113_516

Today I will be reviewing two COSRX essence that I have tried – the Hydraluronic Acid Hydra Power Essence as well as the Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence. Both essences contain ingredients that have a strong focus towards hydration. I have been using the Hydraluronic Acid Hydra Power Essence for over 6 months and the Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power for 1 month after the former ran out.

Hydraluronic Acid Hydra Power Essence

Packed in your standard COSRX essence pump bottle, this powerhouse contains enough product for a single use with a maximum of 2 pumps. I felt that it does its job well enough to prevent my skin from flaking during those cold winter days with its light and watery texture, but was not enough to give me that elasticity or ‘chok chok’ feeling the whole k-beauty scene is obsessed with. With that being said, given its price, I found it to be adequate in its role. It was not good enough to be raved about or to recommend to people. Also, if you’ve read my previous post about Dr.Althea’s Water Glow Cushion, you would remember that its hydrating properties was not good enough to prevent the cushion flaking off my skin. All in all, I definitely underappreciated this product, well, until it ran out and I had to go 2 weeks essence-less while I wait patiently for Jolse to ship out my Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence. That 2 weeks was the absolute worst. No matter how many layers of moisturiser/cream or how often I pamper myself with sheet masks/overnight masks, I had this underlying dryness on my face that would not go away. Pretty depressing, if you ask me. That was when I realise how important essences were, and how this product, although unappreciated by me, was silently protecting my skin from that horrible dryness (HAHA sounds so dramatic…..but it is true).

Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence

Because I am a little bit late in the blogging game, most people would probably already head of this product and how much rave it is getting in the k-beauty scene. Packed in your standard COSRX essence pump bottle as the previous product, let me just tell you now, that it is awesome. Two pumps max again for every single use, patting your palms together and gently patting the product into your skin. One use and I experience the ‘chok chok’ feeling I strive to achieve with much difficulty. Since I started using it, I have been even lazier with my mask routine, going from 3-4 times a week to 1-2 times a week. Why? Because I don’t feel that I need it all that much now, with this essence. My skin feels so smooth, so hydrated, so bouncy – just heaven. Its so good that by the end of the 2 weeks I started using it, I have already gotten my brother and his girlfriend on the bandwagon. Sometimes I am so skeptical about the products beauty bloggers rave about (think sponsored posts), but for this essence? Every last drop of this product deserves to be raved about. It is a bit sticky when you distribute the product evenly between both palms because of its snail content, but when you pat it into your skin, it does not leave a sticky residue. I would 100% recommend this product, it is much better than the Hydraluronic Acid Hydra Power Essence and is also very affordable.

Seriously guys, try it. It is not necessarily just for people with dry type skin. My brother’s girlfriend has oily type skin and she absolutely loves it too.

I have also just purchased the Huxley oil-like, essence like oil essence that it also a much raved about product. I have only tried a little bit on the back of my hand & I am already loving it. Will definitely review it soon so stay tuned for that 😊

Till next time, lots of love xxx


P/s I am thinking of doing a Instagram review account with a friend of mine, still thinking of a good name but for now, follow me on Instagram at http://instagram.com/nicolekwannnn  ❤

Leave a Reply

